RCC’s Student Government Association Brings Home State Awards

Randolph Community College’s Student Government Association won five awards at the North Carolina Comprehensive Community College Student Government Association (N4CSGA) Spring Conference at the Durham Sheraton Imperial Hotel and Convention Center on April 7-9.
Tyler Lisk of Asheboro was awarded the Outstanding Community Service Award. This award is given to an individual who has performed exemplary community service, made significant contributions to enhance the quality of life in their community, and demonstrated an understanding of his or her responsibility to one’s community. The award is based on an application and interviews at the conference. Lisk’s contributions include serving as chair for the RCC SGA Volunteerism Committee, volunteer with Partnership for Children of Randolph County, volunteer with Our Daily Bread Soup Kitchen of Asheboro, Board of Directors member with the United Way of Randolph County, participant in RCC’s Dancing with the Stars, participant in Vintage En Vogue Fundraiser for the Community Health Foundation for Randolph Health, and active volunteer for the Randolph Chamber of Commerce.
 Kirsten Stovall of Liberty was awarded the Daryl Mitchell Award for Outstanding Students for the Central Division. This award is given to three students, one in each division, Central, Western, Eastern. Daryl Mitchell played a significant role in the success of the N4CSGA during his tenure as president. This award is given in his honor to a student who demonstrates the leadership qualities upon which the organization is founded. The students honored with this award demonstrate the six pillars of character: trustworthiness, respect, responsibility, fairness, caring, and citizenship. Stovall was nominated by RCC, then was required to submit an application and interview against other students from across the central division.

Stovall was also recognized with a certificate for her work on the N.C. Student Success Center over this academic year.
Tyler Lisk, Kirsten Stovall, and Dalton Hollowell all interviewed together on the behalf of the RCC SGA delegation for the Top “C”ampus Award. RCC was given this award for SGA’s outstanding projects of campus and community service over the past year. The Top “C” Award is presented to the school that demonstrates the qualities consistent with the community tradition that the 58 colleges represent. It is based upon the SGA’s involvement and interaction on campus as well as in the community. The N4CSGA recognizes each community college’s effort to promote fellowship and citizenship among students and the community college’s SGA that symbolizes outstanding commitment.
Items included in RCC’s application for the Top “C” award included various canned food drives to benefit Our Daily Bread Soup Kitchen, volunteering with Partnership for Children’s Play Daze event, participation in RCC’s United Way Campaign and the Human Race, and students volunteering to serve at Our Daily Bread.  
Shane Bryson, RCC student activities coordinator, was recognized for his time served with the N4CSGA as their past advisor and for his continued support after his tenure. Bryson served as the N4CSGA Advisor from 2013-2016.

RCC’s Student Government Association brought home five awards from the state conference recently. Shown from left to right with their awards are Shane Bryson, student activities coordinator; and students Kirsten Stovall, Tyler Lisk, and Dalton Hollowell

 In addition, Dalton Hollowell of Asheboro has been elected to serve as the Central Division representative on the N4CSGA Executive Board for the 2017-18 school year. Hollowell was recently elected to serve as public information officer for the campus SGA chapter.  
Hollowell follows a list of RCC students who have served or are serving on the N4C Executive Board: Kirsten Stovall, president 2016-17 (RCC SGA’s VP, 2016-17); Brandon Watt, secretary 2016-17 (RCC SGA’s PIO, 2016-17); Sean Ponder, parliamentarian 2016 (RCC SGA’s president 2016-17); Connor Bryant 2014-15, Central Division representative (RCC’s SGA president, 2013-14); and Taylor Coble, 2015-16 Central Division representative (RCC’s SGA president, 2015-16).

Related posts